Posted: 28.02.2022 16:54:00

Russia imposes flight bans on 36 countries

This has become a response to a ban the European states placed on the operation of flights of Russian aircraft, RIA Novosti reports with reference to the Federal Air Transport Agency


“In accordance with the norms of international law, as a response to the ban of European states on the operation of flights of civil aircraft operated by Russian air carriers and/or registered in Russia, a restriction has been introduced on the operation of flights by the air carriers of 36 states,” the message reads.

The restrictions will embrace the air carriers from Albania, Austria, Anguilla, Belgium, Bulgaria, British Virgin Islands, the UK, Hungary, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Denmark (+Greenland, Faroe Islands, Territorial Sea), Jersey, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Sweden, and Estonia.

Flights from these countries can be carried out upon a special permit issued by the Federal Air Transport Agency or Russia’s Foreign Ministry.

Over the weekend, the western countries initiated new sanctions against Russia. In connection with the Russian operation in Ukraine, the European Union banned any Russian aircraft to land, take off or fly over the territory of the European Union, in addition to banning its companies from supplying civilian aircraft and their spare parts to Russia.