Posted: 09.12.2022 12:56:00

EU approves Croatia’s joining Schengen area

The countries of the European Union have officially approved the accession of Croatia to the Schengen area – as stated by Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenković, TASS reports


According to him, Croatia will join the Schengen zone from January 1st.

“Croatia received the unanimous support of the Council for Internal Affairs and Justice – on January 1st, 2023, we become a member of Schengen,” Andrej Plenković said.

In the middle of November, it became known about the readiness of Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia to join the Schengen area. The European Commission noted that these countries have fulfilled all the conditions for joining the European visa-free area. Moreover, the actions of these states ‘contributed to strengthening the security of the Schengen zone, in particular, during the COVID-19 pandemic’.

However, an EU official confirmed the bids from Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen area have been blocked.