Posted: 25.10.2023 13:43:00

The Belarus President’s Team started the new season with a victory

The team of the Head of State beat the Brest Region team 7:2 (3:1, 0:0, 4:1) in Olympic Arena in Minsk during the first match of the republican ice hockey league


The Belarus President’s Team started the first match of the new season in an attacking style, and after half a minute Maksim Parfeevets scored the first goal. The guests responded with sharp counterattacks, but were unsuccessful. And in the very middle of the first period, the hosts carried out a spectacular combination, which was completed by Aleksei Shantyka with an accurate throw. Soon the Brest team gained a numerical advantage, which was quickly realised by Pavel Stepanov, but then Artyom Karkotsky scored the third goal against the Brest team. After the break, the game was on a collision course, the opponents carried out many attacks, but the goalkeepers were at their best and did not allow the attackers to score. But in the final third of the match, spectators saw five goals scored. In the Belarus President’s Team, Aleksei Shantyka and Artyom Karkotsky scored doubles, and Andrei Kostitsyn and Nikolai Stasenko also scored. Aleksandr Lukashenko earned two assistant points. The guests responded with an accurate shot from Viktor Artyushenko. The winning goalkeeper Stepan Goryachevskikh and Brest forward Pavel Stepanov were recognised as the best players of the meeting. The prizes were presented to them by Minsk Mayor Vladimir Kukharev.
Traditionally the spectators saw performances of Belarusian pop singers in intermissions during the hockey match. The most active fans took part in contests right there on the ice, the winners of which won prizes from the Presidential Sports Club. Other fans got some gifts, too: right after the final siren they received dozens of toys from players of the Belarus President’s Team. Young players of Dynamo Moscow, who play in the international tournament in Minsk, presented Aleksandr Lukashenko with a jersey of their famous club.
The Belarus President’s Team is a 14-time winner of the national amateur ice hockey tournament while hockey players from Gomel Region and Minsk Region have one title each. The organisers of the amateur ice hockey tournament are the Presidential Sports Club, the Sports and Tourism Ministry, and the Minsk City Executive Committee.

Based on materials of