Posted: 19.01.2022 14:36:00

MSLU intensifies co-operation with Indonesia

An agreement on co-operation between the Minsk State Linguistic University and Indonesia’s Yogyakarta Veteran National Development University was signed

As reported by the MSLU, the document was signed in an online format, and the ceremony was attended by the Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to the Russian Federation and the Republic of Belarus, the Attaché of the Embassy of the Republic of Belarus in the Republic of Indonesia, representatives of the Foreign Ministry of Indonesia, as well as the Ministry of Education, Culture, Research and Technology of this country.

The MSLU Rector, Natalia Lapteva, and the Veteran Rector, Mohamad Irhas Efendi, outlined the key areas of co-operation between the two universities: opening of a Centre of Indonesian Language and Culture at MSLU and a Centre of Belarusian Culture and Russian Language at Veteran, lecturing of the Indonesian language at the Minsk university as part of facultative classes, lecturing the Russian language and Belarusian culture in Indonesia, organisation of join cultural events.

The Veteran National Development University is one of the state universities in Indonesia. It focuses on patriotism and is actively developing its educational base. The faculties of mineral technology, industrial engineering, agriculture, economics and business, social and political sciences are open for students. The educational institution is engaged into scientific work and promotes its civic position.

In turn, the Minsk State Linguistic University is a leader in the field of language education in the Republic of Belarus. It offers training in 22 foreign languages (English, German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Swedish, Polish, Dutch, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Arabic, Turkish, Persian, Hungarian, Lithuanian, Finnish, Hebrew, Urdu, as well as Russian and Belarusian as foreign languages) and 15 specialisations for more than 7,000 students – becoming the alma mater for young people from more than 60 countries.