Posted: 12.02.2024 16:42:59

Côte d’Ivoire celebrates third AFCON title

In the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) final, the Ivorian team defeated the Nigerian one 2-1 and won the honourable trophy for the third time in their history. The team previously claimed victory in the tournament in 1992 and 2015.


The Ivorians had a disappointing group stage of their home competition, suffering two defeats and securing just one win. After that, Jean-Louis Gasset resigned right in the middle of the tournament and Emerse Faé was appointed as the team's acting head coach – a rare case. However, in the play-offs – where Côte d’Ivoire qualified only as one of the third-best-placed teams in its group – the squad transformed, securing four victories in a row and thus becoming champions.

The final was initially in favour of the Nigerians with William Troost-Ekong's 38th-minute goal. However, in the second half of the match, the Ivorian team changed everything thanks to accurate strikes from Franck Kessié in the 62nd minute and Sébastien Haller in the 81st.

Egypt are the sole leaders in terms of victories in the Africa Cup of Nations with seven trophies. Cameroon (5), Ghana (4), Nigeria (3) and Côte d'Ivoire (3) are in the top five most titled teams in the history of the tournament.