Ensemble to gain unified style
By Tatiana Pastushenkova
The Republican Scientific-Methodological Council on Issues of Historical-Cultural Legacy (at the Culture Ministry of Belarus) has summed up the results of restoration and reconstruction of the historical-cultural monument. It concludes that one of the Palace’s towers does not match the Baroque style of the others, having been restored rather too hurriedly in the past — using a copy of a small engraving by famous topographer and artist Tomasz Makowsky (as found in a book by famous Nesvizh researcher Boleslav Tavroginsky).
As the Director of the Nesvizh National Historical-Cultural Museum-Reserve, Sergey Klimov, explains, after additional work is complete, the clock tower should take its original form, matching the style of the entry tower.
According to Mr. Klimov, no state money is needed, as charitable donations will cover the cost of the work; the museum has opened a special account for such purposes, with ordinary citizens and companies contributing. Reconstruction shouldn’t take long to complete, with no need to close other rooms in the Palace to tourists.
Nesvizh Palace is one of Belarus’ national treasures, included on the UNESCO World Heritage List. It was founded by Radziwill Sierotka, in 1583, designed by Italian architect Giovanni Bernardoni. In line with the original project, the building was rectangular in form, surrounded by earthen bastions and towers. In 1706, it was destroyed by the Swedes but later restored in 1726 — gaining a less warlike appearance and more delicate form. The architects who restored it chose the Baroque style and the Palace was completed by the late 18th century.
The building has a wealth of rooms to explore, including numerous cellars and vaults.